Gratitude for your working body – before sleep routine

body-happy

For a while now I have been consciously making the effort to have more gratitude in my daily life. We hear so often of people suffering from health issues that hinder them in everyday life. I have learnt to be grateful and love my body because someone else may be struggling with a part of theirs and would give anything to swap.

People in our world have problems such as alopecia, dementia, lost limbs, arthritis, heart failure, cerebral palsy, mental health, blindness etc the list goes on!!

Before I go to sleep I thank the universe for my whole body in detail. I am thankful for my hair, my skull, brain, eyesight, eyelids, eyebrows, eyelashes, eye colour, nose, adenoids, sense of smell, working sinuses, cheeks, cheekbones, my hearing, ears, my mouth, teeth, gums, tastebuds, tongue, the ability to swallow, my jaw bone, my neck, spine, collarbone, shoulders, arms, wrists, hands, fingers, the ability to grab and bend my fingers, sense of touch, my nails, my heart, lungs, liver, kidneys, intestines, appendix, stomach, hip bones, legs, knees, ankles, feet, toes, veins, arteries, blood, muscles, bones, joints, cells…..

I truly believe that we should be grateful for the working body parts that we have and love them with our whole hearts. There are so many issues with ‘body image’ in our world and I think there should be more body appreciation! We will all get old one day and our bodies won’t always be able to keep up. So let’s appreciate them whilst we have them and not wish for another.

Could being more aware of the health issues that we don’t have stop body insecurity?

It has for me in many ways…I am not saying that I never have body hang ups, sadly it’s built into the way we think..but appreciation for my body helps me to get through.

Is this something that you can relate to?

I also think this would be a good thing to teach children to do. It promotes self-love and appreciation! Would you teach your children to do this?

This sleep routine also really helps to fall into a nice sleep. I used to struggle with anxiety and over thinking before sleep and this has really helped me to fall asleep with more ease.

Please let me know what you think on this topic.

Take care and love yourself

Sarah

Leave a Reply

